Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online catalogues for literary papers
Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts
Full descriptions of every collection catalogued since 2001 as well as brief descriptions of all the collections catalogued in the Summary and (New) Summary Catalogues and unpublished post-1975 modern catalogues.
This links to digitized copies as well as guidance on using the Falconer Madan Summary Catalogue. This catalogue covers all manuscripts acquired before 1915, except the Ashmole, Canonici, Digby, Greek manuscript, Laud, Rawlinson and Tanner collections (which are listed in the Quarto catalogues).
(New) Summary Catalogue
Provides brief descriptions of all post-medieval Western manuscripts acquired by the Library between 1916-1975. Now digitized and available at the link above.
Accessions card index [link temporarily down]
Card index listing archives and manuscripts acquired 1975-2004 [stored in the Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room, digitised version temporarily down].
Links to digitized copies via guidance on the Quarto Catalogues, which cover the Ashmole, Canonici, Digby, Greek Manuscript, Laud, Rawlinson and Tanner manuscript collections.
Bodleian Libraries Web Archive
The Bodleian Libraries collect web sites in an effort to preserve this material for future generations.
Early Modern Letters Online
A union catalogue of sixteenth-, seventeenth-, and eighteenth-century correspondence.
Online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century
Index of Printed Books containing Manuscript Material
Find here: Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room
Poetry finding aids
The links here are to SOLO records of book or
journal holdings within Oxford.
Autograph finding aids
Index of Post-medieval Autographs
Find here : Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room.
Finding aids for national literary collections