Skip to Main Content

Medical Sciences : Research Resources: Literature searching

Guide to Oxford University library resources for postgraduates, postdocs and researchers in the Medical Sciences Division.
Subjects: Medicine

Databases

What databases do we subscribe to in medical sciences? Use the Database A-Z to browse our bibliographic databases and other online library resources.

Click on the Subject tab and scroll down the list of categories for Medical Sciences.

View groupings for Bibliographic databases, Reference books, e-book collections, and websites.

Medline & the National Library of Medicine

Finding papers

Research Databases at Oxford

Bibliographic databases can help to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books and patents on a particular subject or by a particular author. Oxford's subscription databases can be accessed through Database A-Z or SOLO.

If you are on campus you can access most databases & e-journals directly. For off-campus access start at SOLO and log in with your Oxford Single Sign-On.

Databases for Medical Sciences. The following bibliographic, and full text databases provide good coverage of the medical literature and related life sciences subjects. There is some overlap between them.

Searching OxLip+

Training Videos

Search Skills: How to turn your research topic into a searchable question. 

Other Guides

Bioinformatics/Biostatistics Databases

The following databases provide access to data and resources for Bioinformatics. You will find many more Bioinformatics resources under the 'Bioinformatics' tab in this guide.