Skip to Main Content

Linguistics: Home

A guide to linguistics collections and e-resources
Subjects: Linguistics

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying Linguistics at the University of Oxford, although students or researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for general linguistics, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for Linguistics

  • SOLO
    •  Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool for print and ebooks at Oxford.  
  • SOLO user guide
    • If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching.
  • LibraryHubDiscover 
    • title not in Oxford? Search other libraries in the UK
  • WorldCat
    • Title not in UK? Search other libraries across the world.
  • InterLibrary Loan
    • For books or articles that are not available in Oxford, you can place a request from another library

         

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. You can find instructions for searching for relevant journals on the journals page of this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, images, data and more. You can find some of the key bibliographic databases for Linguistics below.  Take a look at the databases page of this guide for instructions on finding corpora and theses.

Bibliographic databases:

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Johanneke Sytsema
Contact:
Subject Consultant for Linguistics, Dutch and Frisian
Taylor Institution Library
St Giles'
Oxford
1OX 3NA
01865 (2)78159
Website
Subjects: Linguistics

Key libraries