This guide is intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford studying the rights, legal status, and laws relating to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or intersex (LGBTI) individuals, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for LGBTI law and queer legal theory, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.
Navigate through this guide by clicking on the various red tabs you can see below the main title of this guide.
Below are links to take you to other Bodleian guides which may help you with your studies in this area.
Among the online resources available to holders of an Oxford SSO are:
Useful sites on the free web
Finding your way around the Law Bod.
You are always very welcome to ask librarians for directions once you are here - we are larger than we look, with an open shelf collection spreading over 4 floors.
The Law In England & Wales
Halsbury's Laws at KZ 1 is the authoritative encyclopaedia of law in England and Wales. Volumes which may be relevant are:
|Immigration and asylum||57|
|Marriage and civil partnership||72, 73|
The main subject volumes will give you a concise overview of the law, while the footnotes will direct you to the most important cases, legislation and commentary in that area. The print volumes are at KZ 1 on Floor 2. Use the Cumulative Supplement to check for any new developments in the law since the volume was printed. (OU members can access Halsbury's Laws electronically via LexisLibrary.)
There is no one area of the library which covers specifically LGBT law, but there are small collections in the following locations:
|KM208.2||Equal opportunities and discrimination in constitutional law|
|KM544||Homosexuality as a sexual offence|
|KN152.3||LGBT people as a special class of person in law|
|KN172.9||Same-sex marriage and civil partnership|
|KN191||Equal opportunities and discrimination in employment law|
|KN185||Medical law and ethics|
The KM & KN collections include our collections of current English and Welsh law. Shelved after the E&W treatment of a topic come the Australian, Canadian, Irish, New Zealand, Northern Irish, Scottish, and USA monographs addressing the same issue. These are distinguished by an extra cutter number in their shelf marks - respectively A8, C1, I5, N4, N8, S3, and U4.
For example: Flagrant Conduct : The Story of Lawrence v. Texas : How a Bedroom Arrest Decriminalized Gay Americans is shelved at KM544.2.U4.CAR 2013
Also on Level 2 (entrance level)
A section with shelf marks starting General which has comparative legal studies.
A section with shelf marks starting Jurisp which has monographs on legal philosophy.
On Level 3 (one floor up)
Commentary on the law of other European jurisdictions are shelved in discrete collections within the Law Bod - with distinctive and obvious shelfmarks! For example, works on French law start France, on German Law, Germany etc.
Euro Comm indicate works on European Union law.
Shelf marks starting Internat 570 - this is when the LGBT rights (or their absence) have been considered from the international human rights point of view.
Crim shelf marks indicate works in our Criminology Collection
Subject searches to use in SOLO. The results will include both print and electronic resources
Gays -- Legal status, laws, etc.
Homosexuality- law and legislation
Sex discrimination -- Law and legislation
Homophobia - law and legislation
Gay liberation movement
Sex -- Religious aspects
Many of the above can be filtered by the addition eg of - History or Cross-cultural studies or Public opinion egt
Sex role -- History; Gender identity -- Cross-cultural studies ; Gay adoption -- Public opinion
If your research interest is in United States law & policy then the Vere Harmsworth Library will also have useful material.
The Bodleian Social Science Library collects both socio-legal material and criminology.
Bodleian History Faculty Library