This guide is intended for students and researchers studying law (jurisprudence) at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for law and legal philosophy, including ebooks, ejournals and databases.
For Oxford's home jurisdictions, England & Wales & UK, there are two databases which will provide holders of an Oxford SSO with online access to legislation, most (but not all) of the English law report series and transcripts of the decisions of domestic courts.
Reliable sites on the free web accessible to all are
For guidance on finding statutes and case law from other Anglo-American or common law jurisdictions, and the text of treaties and international conventions please use the guides available from the Sources of Law page in this guide which can be reached by the tab above or link below.
If your interest is in the legislation and court decisions of jurisdictions from other legal traditions, we may have a jurisdiction guide to help.
Oxford has a wide range of ebooks and print books for those studying or researching law and legal philosophy.. The majority of the print books are held in the Bodleian Law Library. The print collection in the Law Library is shelved over four floors, with seating for readers on each floor. All floors are connected by both stairs and a lift.
Please note: the entire print collection in the Bodleian Law Library is reference only: we do not lend, there is no borrowing.
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at the guide below for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.
A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available electronically and can be discovered by searching SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Many English & UK legal articles are available to holders of an Oxford SSO via the Journals sections of both Westlaw Edge UK and Lexislibrary, they do include them all. The third link below is an example of a very important journal which is only available via other platforms. Our Topic and Jurisdiction guides have more tips on the specialist law journals which are important for their study.
Law journals can be difficult to find using SOLO, so the Law Library has devised our own online tool to help
Interdisciplinary interests? If you want to search for e-journals by subject or browse all e-journals to which the University subscribes, the dedicated e-Journals A-Z platform is designed to make this easier
Oxford subscribes to many databases for law. Two key ones will be already familiar from above, but below are a couple more of the most frequently used. Our Topic and Jurisdiction guides will indicate which databases are available/best for their study. The quickest way to see all the legal databases that are available is to visit the Law Library's webpage Legal Databases at Oxford
Interdisciplinary interests? If you would like to search for and browse all databases the University subscribes to, you can do so through our dedicated Databases A-Z platform or SOLO.