Skip to Main Content

Regulation & Regulations: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying regulation and governance at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for regulation, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

Regulation: theory and practice

Examples of ebooks in topic which may be useful starting points:

Finding people with the same interests at Oxford University

On the free web

In the Law Bod, KM 302 indicates a work on regulation. Works dealing with E&W/UK are shelved first. An example is below. Then at KM 302 A8 are books on regulation in Australia. At KM 302 CI you are in Canada, at KM 302 I5 you are in the Republic of Ireland, KM 302 N4 you are in New Zealand, By KM 302 U4 you are looking at books about the US system.

This collection is on Level 2, the Entrance Level.

In the Law Bod, a shelf mark beginning General indicates a comparative approach, or at least one not specific to one particular jurisdiction. One example is this work below. This collection is on Level 2, the Entrance Level.

In the Law Bod, the shelf mark beginning Jurisp 510 indicates a book taking a theoretical, philosophical interest in the topic. This collection is also shelved on Level 2, the entrance level.

Bodleian Print Collections
A topic of interdisciplinary interest which means that commentary can be found in the collections of both the Bodleian Law Library & the Bodleian Social Science Library. Fortunately, they are in neighbouring buildings, the St Cross and the Manor Road Building respectively, a few minutes walk apart.

All these collections can be explored by searching SOLO.  Pay particular attention to the Locations. As the opening hours can differ silently, do check their websites via the links below before setting out!

NB The Ground Floor of the Law Bod has the Bodleian Official Papers Collection - which will be useful in your research takes you into UK government policy

Related Bodleian Guides