Below is a list of indexes to journal articles which may be useful for literature searches. The majority require an Oxford SSO usearname and password, and many are abstract only.
The principal collection of UK law journals in LawBod have shelf marks beginning Cw UK 300 and are located on the main floor. These are arranged alphabetically by journal title. New issues for journals are on our new journals display which is on the right as you come into the library. If you are looking for a new issue that does not appear here or on the shelf then ask staff and we will be able to check if this issue has arrived and where it is in the system.
Holders of an Oxford SSO will find our subscriptions to Westlaw UK and LexisLibrary include full text access to many English/UK law journals - at least for the last 30 to 40 years. Sometimes they may find that HeinOnline takes the year range back further.
Oxford E-journals - If you are unsure whether a journal is available electronically then you can check on Oxford ejournals. You can search by the title of the journal and it should link through to let you know where the journal is held. Some journals are held in more than one database and some databases only hold a certain date range. Make sure you check the date range information which appears underneath the database link. The citation boxes within ejournals do not work well with legal journals and so you may find that even if you fill these in it will not take you directly to the article and you will have to use the navigation within that particular database to find your article.
The Bodleian Law Library also has a database of law reports and journals and this can be searched by title or by jurisdiction.
If you have any problems locating an article then do ask the Bodleian Law Library staff.
Articles in UK legal journals are usually cited in a certain way. Under the standards set down in OSCOLA (4th ed) the format should be:
Author, 'title', [year - if no volume] OR (year if there is a volume), volume - if present, issue if pages start from 1 for each part, journal name or abbreviation, first page of article.
So a couple of examples would be:
Kate Hofmeyr, 'The problem of private entrapment'  Criminal Law Review 319
Barber, ‘Laws and Constitutional Conventions’ (2009) 125 LQR 294
Unfortunately not all journal citations will be complete or will have the correct information but you can usually track down the article with the information you have.