Skip to Main Content

Singapore : legal resources: Books

Subjects: Law - Foreign Law

Finding ebooks and books in the Bodleian Law Library

Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..

Help with finding books

The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford  University's online resource discovery tool.

 

For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:

Holders of an Oxford SSO can access  Halsbury's Laws of Singapore, Law and Practice of Singapore ncome Tax, Woon's Corporation Law via LexisLIbrary's International Content.

Print collection

The Law Bod shelves its collection of current Singaporean law books on Level One, one floor below the entrance level.   The shelf mark begins Cw Sing. (The prefix Cw indicates a member of the Commonwealth, the voluntary association of 54 independent and equal countries in Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific)
There is no subject arrangement, the books are arranged by the last name of the author or editor.

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General.
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. 
Sometimes the comparison will be between or among other Asian states, sometimes between one or more Asian states and one or more jurisdictions from elsewhere in the world.

Also on Level 2 is a smaller collection with shelf marks beginning Cw Gen. This has books where all the jurisdictions under comparison are (or were) members of the Commonwealth  (the voluntary association of 54 independent and equal countries in Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific).

On Level 3,  one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Internat  (short for public international law). These books are further arranged by topic as described below.

Also on Level 3 is an area of the open shelf collection with books with shelf marks beginning Private Int. (This is short for private international law or conflict of laws as it is sometimes called.) In this section books are simply arranged by the last name of the author or editor, not by topic.

Subject arrangement of Internat

The public international law collection on Level 3 is subdivided by broad areas of law. The divisions used are listed alphabetically below, with the corresponding shelf mark alongside. Within each shelf mark the books are next arranged by author/editor.

Air law  Internat 640

Atomic energy  Internat 600

Dependent states and special regimes  Internat 535

Economic law  Internat 590

European Court of Human Rights: literature Internat 575

General and theory Internat 500

History  Internat 510

Human rights  Internat 570

International crimes  Internat 580

International relations  Internat 660

Jurisdiction of states  Internat 560

Law of the sea and waterways  Internat 630

Nationality  Internat 565

Recognition   Internat 545

Servitudes  Internat 550

Social legislation and organisation  Internat 610

Space law  Internat 650

State responsibility  Internat 555

State succession  Internat 540

The state (as a legal entity)  Internat 530

Title to territory  Internat 520

Transport and communications (except sea, air and space)  Internat 620

Treaties (theory etc.)  Internat 670

International organisations History and general  Internat 680

General and regional political organisations Internat 681

League of Nations: general Internat 685

League of Nations: publications (series) Internat 686

United Nations: general  Internat 687

United Nations: publications (series)  Internat 688

Peace and disarmament Internat 700

International disputes and arbitration  General and theory  Internat 710 

Individual arbitration tribunals: literature Internat 740

International courts and tribunals: general Internat 720

Permanent Court of Arbitration: literature  Internat 730

Permanent Court of International Justice and the International Court of Justice: literature  Internat 725

Termination of war (including specific peace treaties)  Internat 760 

Ministry & Agencies responsible for Law Reform:  

The Singapore Academy of Law, Law Reform Committee - Established in 1989 to look into the reform of discrete areas of the law, not confined to any particular field or doctrinal area. Updates of existing legislation as a result of their reform work have included:

  • implementation of the corporatisation of law partnerships in the Legal Profession (Amendment) Act 2000
  • the transfer of proceedings between courts in the Subordinate Courts (Amendment) Act 2005
  • the loss of inheritance in the Civil Law (Amendment) Act 2009.

The Attorney-General's Chambers, Legislation and Law Reform Division- Officially formed in 2008, the LLRD draft legislation, identify areas for law reform and make relevant reccommendations for reform, based on their research. They work closely with the Law Reform Committee of the Singapore Academy of Law chaired by Judges of the High Court.

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Why are some books not available electronically?

There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic access to a resource. The ebooks guide explains some of these reasons: