Skip to Main Content

Obligations law: Books : Restitution

Subjects: Law

Restitution law: finding ebooks and books in the Bodleian Law Library

Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library.

Help with finding books

The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford  University's online resource discovery tool.

To find comprehensive works on all aspects of English law of restitution use subject search terms, with both forms of name of jurisdiction

Restitution -- England
Restitution -- Great Britain
Unjust enrichment -- England
Unjust enrichment -- Great Britain

Quasi Contracts

For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:

Ebooks

Normal searches in SOLO will find both ebooks (where available) and physical or print books automatically. However we strongly recommend that all holders of an Oxford SSO log into both Westlaw Books and LexisLibrary (go to Commentary section) and have a look at their content separately, and not rely on SOLO searches alone.

When you are studying English restitution/unjust enrichment law, most of the print books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. The Reserve Collection is also on Level 2 but is a separate bookcase. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library, we are always happy to point you in the right direction.
Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course).

Reading List titles in the Law Reserve include

A few shelves away from the Law Reserve Collection is the open shelf collection where the majority of works on this topic can be found

Law Commission of England and Wales

For fuller guidance on foreign law studies please consult the appropriate Law Bod guide for your particular interest. Below the link is a basic guide to where to find the collections of print books for foreign jurisdictions in the Law Bod.

Which jurisdiction are you interested in?

Level 2 (the entrance level to the law library) In addition to the law of England & Wales, and also in the KN section, are books relating to the common law/Anglo-American legal tradition countries listed below.

Please note. Texts relating to contract law in other common law jurisdictions are also shelved in this sequence: the third line of the shelf mark indicates the jurisdiction by the addition of the appropriate (see list below) geographic code.  For example KN30.U4.HYL 2016 is the shelf mark for Tort Law : A Modern Perspective which is about USA law. This addition to the shelf mark also means the books from each foreign jurisdiction are shelved together.

  • A8 Australia
  • C1 Canada
  • I5 Ireland
  • N4 New Zealand
  • S3 Scotland.
  • U4 United States of America

Level 3 (one floor above the entrance level to the law library) 
         Here you will find books on the contract law of individual European jurisdictions (eg France, Germany) and the contract law of the European Union. (EU law books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm.)

Level 1 (one floor below the entrance level to the law library)
         Here you will find the books of the remaining jurisdictions of the world (eg China, India, South Africa)

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General. 
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. 

If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth, the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen. This collection is also on Level 2, but separate from General.

Note If a comparative law book is on an Oxford Reading List it might have been added to the Law Reserve Collection. The indicators will be that the shelf mark begins KB and the Location will mention Reserve Collection. These books are shelved on a separate bookcase on Level 2.

Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.

Related Law Bod guide

The majority of books on European Union law are on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library. These books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm.

Are you looking for a Reading List title?

If the book on European Union law you are interested in has a shelf mark beginning KW and the location mentions the Law Reserve Collection you will find it on Level 2, the level at which you enter the library.

For further guidance on European Union law generally, there is a separate Law Bod online guide available

Additional subject search terms to use in SOLO
Contracts - philosophy
Contacts - economic analysis

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for jurisprudence or legal philosophy.  Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.

This is where most books on the philosophy/theory behind contract law will be shelved. However do pay attention to SOLO results as there may be others shelved with the books on the law of contract (ie with KN shelf mark) or with comparative studies (ie with General or Cw Gen shelf mark.) These collections are also shelved on Level 2.

Potentially useful title shelved in KN collection on Level 2

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Why are some books not available electronically?

There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic access to a resource. The ebooks guide explains some of these reasons: