Skip to Main Content

LGBTI law: Books

Subjects: Law

Finding ebooks and books in the Bodleian Law Library

Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library.

Help with finding books

The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford  University's online resource discovery tool.

Suggested search terms to use in SOLO include

Homosexuality -- Law and legislation
Gays -- Legal status, laws, etc.
Gay couples -- Legal status, laws, etc
Gay rights
Same-sex marriage -- Law and legislation
Equality before the law 
Sex discrimination -- Law and legislation 
Gay adoption

Homophobia - law and legislation
Hate crimes

Gay liberation movement 

Sexuality
Sexual orientation
Lesbians
Bisexuals
Intersexuality
Transgender people
Gender identity

Sex -- Religious aspects
Sexual ethics
Sex customs

Many of the above can be filtered by the addition eg of - History  or Cross-cultural studies or Public opinion eg
Sex role -- History; Gender identity -- Cross-cultural studies ; Gay adoption -- Public opinion

For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:

If you are interested in the law in England, most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. The Reserve Collection is also on Level 2 but are shelved in a discrete run. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library.
Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),

There is no one area of the library which covers specifically LGBT law, but you may encounter the following Law Library shelf marks in the results of searches

KM201-229      Civil rights
KM208.2    Equal opportunities and discrimination in constitutional law
KM544       Homosexuality as a sexual offence
KN152.3       LGBT people as a special class of person in law
KN172.9    Same-sex marriage and civil partnership
KN191          Equal opportunities and discrimination in employment law
KN185       Medical law and ethics

If you are interested in Australian, Canadian, NZ or USA dimensions of LGBTQI rights and law, the current collection will be on Level 2 (the entrance level to the Law Library) with shelf marks beginning K, in particular the following:

KM201-229      Civil rights
KM208.2    Equal opportunities and discrimination in constitutional law
KM544       Homosexuality as a sexual offence
KN152.3       LGBT people as a special class of person in law
KN172.9    Same-sex marriage and civil partnership
KN191          Equal opportunities and discrimination in employment law
KN185       Medical law and ethics

Note: The shelf marks will indicate - on the third line of the shelf mark - which jurisdiction is being discussed
Australian books are coded A8 
Canadian
books are coded C1
Irish 
books are coded I5
New Zealand 
books are coded N4
USA 
books are coded U4

An example of a US book and its shelf mark is:

On Level 3, one floor above the entrance level, you will find books on the domestic law of European jurisdictions and European Union law.

On Level 1, one floor beneath the entrance level, you will find books on the domestic law of the remaining countries of the world.

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General. 
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. 

If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth, the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen. This collection is also on Level 2, but separate from General.

Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp, short for jurisprudence or legal philosophy.  Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.

Another page in this guide has more on Queer Theory in a legal context.

The public international law collection is shelved on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library.

Books on the international protection and promotion of human rights and equality will most likely have shelf marks beginning  Internat 570. Books are arranged within the section by author's/editor's surname.

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.