Skip to Main Content

Latin American Jurisdictions: USMCA

Bloc Membership





United States–Mexico–Canada Agreement (USMCA)

The United States–Mexico–Canada Agreement (USMCA) is a trilateral trade bloc in North America signed by the United States, Canada and Mexico. Like other multi-lateral agreements, the legislation for USMCA creates a ‘free trade area,’ allowing for tariff-reductions for certain targeted commodities and financial instruments exchanged between the US and member countries. Individual agreements such as USMCA are seen as stepping stones towards the FTAA (Free Trade Area of the Americas), a more ambitious plan introduced by the United States that would encompass all South American and Caribbean nations as well as those of North and Central America (except Cuba).