Skip to Main Content

Latin American Jurisdictions: UN ECLAC

UN's Economic Commission for LA & Caribbean (ECLAC)

Comisión Económica para América Latina (CEPAL) 
This is the regional commission of the United Nations. Originally established by Economic and Social Council resolution 106(VI) of 25 February 1948,
"It was founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America, coordinating actions directed towards this end, and reinforcing economic ties among countries and with other nations of the world. The promotion of the region's social development was later included among its primary objectives."
By Resolution 1984/67 of 27 July 1984, the Economic Council decided on a new name Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean which lead to the English acronym changing from ECLA to ECLAC.


Escazú Agreement

Regional Agreement on Access to Information, Participation and Justice in Environmental Matters in Latin America and the Caribbean (Escazú Agreement)