Skip to Main Content

Latin American Jurisdictions: OAS

Organisation of American States (OAS)

The Charter of the OAS (Bogotá, Colombia, 1948. EIF  December 1951) (Amended by subsequent Protocols of Buenos Aires (1967, EIF 1970); of Cartagena de Indias (1985, EIF 1988); of Managua (1993, EIF 1996); of Washington (1992, EIF 1997).)
Article 1 "an order of peace and justice, to promo
te their solidarity, to strengthen their collaboration, and to defend their sovereignty, their territorial integrity, and their independence"
All 35 independent American states are members - and OAS has 70 participat
ing Permanent Observers.

Related Commentary