Skip to Main Content

Jurisprudence: Books

Subjects: Law, Philosophy

Finding ebooks and books in the Bodleian Law Library

Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..

Help with finding books

The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford  University's online resource discovery tool.

General subject searches to start with are
Law -- Philosophy
Jurisprudence

Alternatively, you could add philosophy after a legal topic eg Private law - philosophy.

But there are a range of more specific subjects which may suit your interest more. For example
Law -- Interpretation and construction
Law  - Language
Law - political aspects
Law and economics
Law and ethics
Feminist jurisprudence 
Semiotics (Law)
Semantics ( Law )
Sociological Jurisprudence 

For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:

When you are on a taught course of jurisprudence at Oxford University most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod. But they may be in separate areas of the book cases. 
Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library!

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List look out for instances where  the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library.
Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),

Principal current collection

The largest collection of legal philosophy works have shelf marks beginning Jurisp. Within this collection the books are arranged by author or editor - with the exception of some grouping of books relating to the works of particular philosophers. The works by the philosopher him or herself are shelved first, then follow any festschrifts or works by others interpreting the life and work of the philosopher.

For example
Kelsen's own Reine Rechtslehre : Einleitung in die Rechtswissenschaftliche problematik is at Jurisp 510 K29d1

Normativity and norms : critical perspectives on Kelsenian themes  is at Jurisp 510 K29yP332

Superseded editions

 On the ground floor the Law Bod holds its "secondary collection" - (sec coll) suffix to shelf marks. This is predominately superseded or previous editions. It is also an open shelf collection, and readers are welcome to access it (via either stairs or the lift). There is seating for readers and a PCAS machine on this floor, but readers are welcome to take items to another floor of the library.

In addition to searching SOLO, readers may find the following online bibliographies helpful. 

Related Bodleian guides

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.