Skip to Main Content

Jurisprudence: Home

Subjects: Law, Philosophy

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying jurisprudence (legal philosophy and legal theory) at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about texts and commentary for jurisprudence, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

Legal Philosophy and Legal Theory : quick start

Jurisprudence or legal philosophy closely allied to aspects of social, moral and political  philosphy and theology. among other disciplines.
Standard SOLO searches will find e-books in this topic. Remote access will generally require an Oxford SSO.

Among the titles you will find are:

A sample of free and OA resources on the world wide web

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for texts you may find  that the shelf mark begins KA and the location is shown as "Law Library Reserve Collection."  This collection is also  shelved on Level 2 - jbut in a separate area. Pleas ust ask a librarian for directions when you are in the library.

Current examples of Law Reserve books which are also general introductions to this subject are:

Print resources for jurisprudence in the Law Bod

The largest collection of  legal philosophy works in the open shelf collection have shelf marks staring with Jurisp. 
However, the Law Bod is in the process of converting its entire book collection to a different (Moys) subject classification scheme, so SOLO searches will reveal some monographs with shelf marks beginning KA.  
Whichever the shelf mark, these books are on Level 2 

Specialist legal philosophy journals - shelf marks beginning Jurisp 300 - are on Floor 1, if the issue was published in 2000 or subsequently, or on the Ground Floor,  if the volume was published up to and including 1999.

Many "general interest" law journals  (such as the Oxford Journal of Legal Studies) may also publish articles on legal philosophy - so make a note of the shelf mark (in OJLS case it will begin Cw UK 300), and ask for directions if you need them!

Philosophy/Theology

The Lower Reading Rooms Open Shelves of the "old Bod" continue to have Philosophy and Theology & Patristics collections.
This Library is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the Law Bod towards the centre of town.

Bodleian Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library  is a 20 to 30 minute walk from the Law Bod, in the
Radcliffe Humanities Building
Radcliffe Observatory Quarter
Woodstock Road
Oxford, OX2 6GG
This building may still be better known as the (old) Radcliffe Infirmary!

Clearly some research interests in political philosophy or the philosophy of international relations may also be supported by the collections held in the Bodleian Social Science Library

Related Bodleian guides

Key libraries