Skip to Main Content

International law: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying public international law at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for public international law, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

Public International Law: quick start

This guide is a general introduction to the international legal system of the post World War Two world, its institutions, challenges, and evolution.

If your research includes earlier periods please see a separate Bodleian guide Legal History: International Law

Holders of an Oxford SSO may find some or all of the following ebooks useful starting points.

Resources available to anyone with access to the internet include:

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. These titles  are shelved in a discrete run on Level 2, the level at which you enter the library. Please ask a librarian for  further directions when you are in the Law Library, the Enquiry Desk is just inside the library gate.
Public internation law books in the Reserve collection have shelf marks beginning KC - such as the example below

Note: Books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on a particular course.

 

The majority of the public international law collection is shelved  on Level 3 of the Law Bod, one floor above the level at which you enter the library

This collection has shelf marks beginning Internat. 
The material is arranged as follows: treaties: law reports : post-2000 journals: bibliographies: dictionaries: texts/monographs.

Please see the Books page for more detailed guidance on the Law Library collection

Some titles are only available in print:

Depending on your research interests you may find that your SOLO searches direct you to useful materials in other Bodleian libraries such as

Related Bodleian guides

Below are links to take you to other Law Bod guides to some of the specific topics within public international law

Key library