Skip to Main Content

International law of the sea (ILOS): Convention (UNCLOS)

United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS)

Convention on the Law of the Sea 1833 UNTS 3, EIF 16 November 1994

"Table of Contents" 
Part I Introduction
Part II Territorial Sea and Contiguous Zone
Part III Straits used for International Navigation
Part IV Archipelagic States
Part V Exclusive Economic Zone
Part VI Continental Shelf
Part VII High Seas
Part VIII Regime of Islands
Part IX Enclosed or Semi-Enclosed Seas
Part X Right of Access of Land-Locked States to and from the Sea and Freedom of Transit
Part XI The Area
Part XII Protection and Preservation of the Marine Environment
Part XIII Marine Scientific Research
Part XIV Development and Transfer of Marine Technology
Part XV Settlement of Disputes
Part XVI General Provisions
Part XVII Final Provisions
Annex I Highly Migratory Species
Annex II Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf
Annex III Basic Conditions of Prospecting, Exploration and Exploitation
Annex IV Statute of the Enterprise
Annex V Conciliation
Annex VI Statute of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
Annex VII Arbitration
Annex VIII Special Arbitration
Annex IX Participation by International Organizations

Related guide from Bodleian Law Library


Looking for a Reading List title?

The most heavily used books on OU law reading lists are put in the Law Reserve Collection on Level 2, the level at which you enter the library.
Note: these books are available to all readers - not just those on the particular course.

Two examples are below.

The major open shelf collection will have shelf marks beginning Internat. You can find these on Level 3, one floor above the level at which you enter the library. There are both stairs and a lift available to readers.

Looking for the Virginia Commentaries? see below