Skip to Main Content

International law of the sea (ILOS): Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying the international law of the sea at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for international sea law, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

International law of the sea: quick start

Holders of an Oxford Single Sign On can use any of the links below: they should be good introductions/quick reference points. The last link is to  a resource available free to anyone with internet access.

Online resources available to anyone with access to the internet

The Law Library's print collection is spread over four floors. Readers have access to all - via either stairs or the lift.
The Enquiry Desk is on Level 2, the floor at which you enter the library. Please do always ask for assistance if you have any questions about or difficulties in using the library. Note: the entire collection is reference only - there is no borrowing.

Looking for a Reading List title?

The result of your search in SOLO may indicate that the print copy is in the Law Reserve Collection. This is a separately shelved collection on Level 2, the entrance level to the law library. The shelf marks for public international law books will start with KC

 

The open shelf collection

The majority of our collection of current materials for public international law can be found on Level 3 one above the entrance level. These items have shelf marks beginning Internat (short for international).

  The material is arranged with according to type/form . First come print collections of primary sources (treaties & law reports), then international law journals (from 2000 onwards only) - next - bibliographies:dictionaries - and  finally textbooks/monographs.

The collection of monographs is divided into subject areas - reflected in the next section of the shelf mark.

Books specifically on ILOS are shelved at Internat 630  then alphabetically by the first author/editor's surname.

For further guidance please visit the Books page in this guide.

Related Bodleian guides

Key library