Skip to Main Content

War, weapons & victims : legal responses: Books

Finding ebooks and books in the Bodleian Law Library

Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..

Help with finding books

The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford  University's online resource discovery tool.

Subject search terms to try in SOLO:

Humanitarian law
Combatants and non combatants (International law)

Humanitarian assistance
Humanitarianism
Human rights monitors;
Humanitarian intervention

War (International law)
War -- Protection of civilians; 
War crimes (International law) 
Military law 

Aggression (international law)

For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:

Law Reserve Collection

The Law Reserve Collection is a discrete collection of the most highly used textbooks on Oxford Law Faculty Reading Lists. It can be found on Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for further directions.
Note. Anyone may consult the books in the Law Reserve, not just those on the particular course. These books must also be read in the Library, they cannot be borrowed.

In the Law Reserve collection, international law books have shelf marks beginning KC

 

A shelf mark starting Internat indicates that the item is shelved in our Public International Law collection. The current collection of books is on Level 3, one floor up from the entrance level.

Internat 500 is where "overview" books on international law are shelved. They might well have useful chapter(s).

The following shelf marks are where you will find monographs which have a more specific focus, likely to help with IHL studies:

War and armed conflict, humanitarian law                           Internat 750

Termination of war (including specific peace treaties)         Internat 760

Human rights, refugees etc                                                  Internat 570

War crimes & war crimes trials                                            Internat 580

Holders of an Oxford SSO may find books that are also available online

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.