Skip to Main Content

Human Rights: Law reports

Online databases of case law

LexisLibrary. Subscription database available to OU members via SOLO

Westlaw UK.  Subscription database available to OU members via SOLO

Westlaw International (accessed via Westlaw UK).  Subscription database available to OU members via SOLO

Justis Subscription database available to OU members via SOLO

Oxford Reports on International Law subscription database available to OU members via SOLO

HUDOC Free resource.  Full text reports from the European Court of Human Rights

ICJ Free resource.  Full text reports from the International Court of Justice

Interights Commonwealth Human Rights Case Law Database. Free Resource.  Summaries of over 2000 significant human rights decisions

Worldlii Free resource. Full text selected reports.
 

Human Right Law Reports

Human rights cases may be heard in international, regional or national courts and tribunals, some of which may specialise in human rights cases or in cases resulting from specific events, such as the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda and the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia.  The International Court of Justice and the European Court of Human Rights are of particular importance. More information on finding cases may be found by looking at the Courts and Tribunals tab. 

As well as official judgments and reports from individual courts and regions there are also some commercial series published. The hard copy collection in the Bodleian is split depending on jurisdiction see below for a list of law reports within the Library and some of these are also available online.  More information and help can be found by looking at the Courts and Tribunals tab.

Human Rights law reports series

 

Butterworths Human Rights Cases (BHRC)  -Classmark: General 100 B90.  Also available to OU members on LexisLibrary (access via SOLO)

European Commission of Human Rights, decisions and reports (D.R.) - Classmark: Internat 150 E41.  Selected decisions also available via HUDOC (see electronic sources box)

European Court of Human Rights Judgments (Decision and Pleadings, Series A & B) - Classmark: Internat 150 E45

European Human Rights Report (EHRR)  - Classmark: Internat 150 E60. Also available to OU members on Westlaw(access via SOLO)

Inter-American Court of Human Rights Reports  - Classmark: Internat 145

International Human Rights Reports (IHRR) - Classmark: Internat 300 I162

United Kingdom Human Rights Reports (UKHRR)  - Classmark CwUK 120 U75