Skip to Main Content

Human Rights: Americas

New Feeds

News feed from the Organisation of American States

Loading ...


Below is a number of books available for this topic.  Click on the title of the book to see library holdings.

Human Rights in the Americas

The Organisation of American States (OAS) was established in 1948 and currently has 35 members (OAS Charter).  Human rights within the member states falls under its mandate and is usually known as the Inter- American Human Rights System. As well as the OAS charter the other primary legal document is the American Convention on Human Rights. The OAS website has  a document section which has treaties, conventions and resolutions as well as reports. 

The Inter-American Human Rights Commission was created in 1969 and is one of the two bodies that make up the Inter-American Human Rights System.  The website has information about the commission, case law, special reports and Rapporteurship information on special areas. 

The Inter-American Court of Human Rights was established in 1979.  The website contains information about the court as well as decisions and reports (under the jurisprudence tab), opinions and annual reports.

The Bodleian Law Library holds a few textbooks on the Inter-American Human Rights which are listed in the box on the left.