Skip to Main Content

Legal history: western Europe: France: (16-(18

MFO: Maison française

In studying this area you may find SOLO directs you to works held in the library of the Maison française d'Oxford, 2-10 Norham Rd, Oxford OX2 6SE.  If you just want to consult their book collection, registration is free.
Generally their hours are: Monday-Friday: 2-6pm  library@mfo.ac.uk Tel: (0044) (0)1865 274224

Email: library@mfo.ac.uk
Tel: (0044) (0)1865 274224 - See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf
Email: library@mfo.ac.uk
Tel: (0044) (0)1865 274224 - See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf
Email: library@mfo.ac.uk
Tel: (0044) (0)1865 274224 - See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf
Email: library@mfo.ac.uk
Tel: (0044) (0)1865 274224 - See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf

The library of the Maison Française d'Oxford is a study and information centre specializing in French culture and society.

The collections are made up of 40,000 books, 50 periodicals, and a Film Library of approximatively 700 films, mostly fiction.

- See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf

The library of the Maison Française d'Oxford is a study and information centre specializing in French culture and society.

The collections are made up of 40,000 books, 50 periodicals, and a Film Library of approximatively 700 films, mostly fiction.

- See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpufvvv

The library of the Maison Française d'Oxford is a study and information centre specializing in French culture and society.

The collections are made up of 40,000 books, 50 periodicals, and a Film Library of approximatively 700 films, mostly fiction.

- See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf

The library of the Maison Française d'Oxford is a study and information centre specializing in French culture and society.

The collections are made up of 40,000 books, 50 periodicals, and a Film Library of approximatively 700 films, mostly fiction.

- See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf

The library of the Maison Française d'Oxford is a study and information centre specializing in French culture and society.

The collections are made up of 40,000 books, 50 periodicals, and a Film Library of approximatively 700 films, mostly fiction.

- See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf

France: (16th to (18th

Charondas Le Caron, Pandectes du droit Français (1596) (read online via BVH see link below)
Coquille, Institution au droict des françois (1607) (read online via Gallica see link below)
de L’Hommeau,  Maximes généralles du droit François (1610) (read online via Gallica see link below)

(16th stirrings of the concept of codification - but no fruition
Charles Demoulin (1500-1566)
Code Henri III (1586)

(17th precursors
Code Marillac (1629)
Grandes Ordonnances of Louis XIV (1667 - 1681 Colbert) 

From 1697 onwards, national/royal/customary law was taught at French universities (in addition to canon & Roman law which had been taught from the beginning).

(18th precursors
Ordonnances edited by Chancelier d’Aguesseau (1731 - 1747)

Bodleian libraries

ail: library@mfo.ac.uk
Tel: (0044) (0)1865 274224 - See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf
Email: library@mfo.ac.uk
Tel: (0044) (0)1865 274224 - See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf
Email: library@mfo.ac.uk
Tel: (0044) (0)1865 274224 - See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf
Email: library@mfo.ac.uk
Tel: (0044) (0)1865 274224 - See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf

The library of the Maison Française d'Oxford is a study and information centre specializing in French culture and society.

The collections are made up of 40,000 books, 50 periodicals, and a Film Library of approximatively 700 films, mostly fiction.

- See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf

The library of the Maison Française d'Oxford is a study and information centre specializing in French culture and society.

The collections are made up of 40,000 books, 50 periodicals, and a Film Library of approximatively 700 films, mostly fiction.

- See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpufvvv

The library of the Maison Française d'Oxford is a study and information centre specializing in French culture and society.

The collections are made up of 40,000 books, 50 periodicals, and a Film Library of approximatively 700 films, mostly fiction.

- See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf

The library of the Maison Française d'Oxford is a study and information centre specializing in French culture and society.

The collections are made up of 40,000 books, 50 periodicals, and a Film Library of approximatively 700 films, mostly fiction.

- See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf

The library of the Maison Française d'Oxford is a study and information centre specializing in French culture and society.

The collections are made up of 40,000 books, 50 periodicals, and a Film Library of approximatively 700 films, mostly fiction.

- See more at: http://www.mfo.ac.uk/en/library#sthash.vOsfjalb.dpuf