Skip to Main Content

Indigenous Peoples: legal resources: Canada

Subjects: Law - Foreign Law

Background to 2008 Act

Guide to Canadian law resources generally

Canadian Indigenous Peoples

"‘Indigenous peoples' is a collective name for the original peoples of North America and their descendants.  ‘Aboriginal peoples' is also used.

The Canadian Constitution recognizes three such groups: Indians (more commonly referred to as First Nations), Inuit and Métis. These are three distinct peoples with unique histories, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs.

More than 1.4 million people in Canada identify themselves as an Aboriginal person, according to the 2011 National Household Survey (NHS). "

Official government website Viewed  16 June 2017.

Canadian native law cases v.1-v.7                     Cw Can 100 C102
(Canadian and PC decisions 1763 to 1978)

Canadian native law reporter  v.1(1979)-                Cw Can 100 C103 (available  via LexisLibrary for holders of  an Oxford SSO)