Skip to Main Content

European & Scandinavian/Nordic countries: legal resources: Books

Subjects: Law - Foreign Law

Finding ebooks and books in the Bodleian Law Library

Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..

Help with finding books

The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford  University's online resource discovery tool. For those wishing to learn more about usingsearches, we recommend the following:

The Law Bod shelves its collection books for individual Asian jurisdictions on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level.  The arrangement is alphabetical, by the English name of the jurisdiction. There is no further subject arrangement within each jurisdiction's collection, the books are arranged by the last name of the author or editor.

Depth of coverage varies considerably: you may well discover that for some countries the collection has an historic rather than a current emphasis. 

The majority of the Law Library's books in this section will be in the language(s) of the jurisdiction. 

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General.
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. 

The collection is not divided by subject, but arranged by the name of author or editor.

If you are interested in comparative studies, there is a separate guide which might be helpful

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for jurisprudence) or legal philosophy .  Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.

Looking for a Reading List title?

The most heavily used Reading Lists books on European Union can be found on Level 2 in a separate book case called the Law Reserve Collection. Note that the EU law books in this collection have shelf marks beginning KW.

Major collection of EU law books

On Level 3,  one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning  Euro Comm. This is where you will find the majority of commentary on European Union law, and its adoption by member states.

This section is not further subdivided by topic/subject, but arranged alphabetically by the last name of author or editor.

On Level 3,  one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Internat  (short for public international law).

The shelf mark

Internat 570 gathers together all works on international human rights 

Internat 575 is where you will find commentary on the European Court of Human Rights

Related Bodleian guides