Skip to Main Content

Environmental Law: Books

Finding ebooks and books in the Bodleian Law Library

Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..

Help with finding books

The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford  University's online resource discovery tool.

Suggested subject search terms to get your studies started 

If you want domestic environmental law use   Environmental law + jurisdiction  eg Environmental law Australia

If you want EU law use  Environmental law European Union  for works published post 1995. (Earlier works  Environmental law​ European Union Countries , older still Environmental law  European Economic Community countries)

Climatic changes -- Law and legislation  + jurisdiction

Environmental law, International

Environmental protection 

Environmental justice

For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:

When you are studying English environmental law, most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. The Reserve Collection is also on Level 2 but is shelved as a discrete run. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library.
Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course)

An example of a text in the Law Reserve is below:

The majority of the books on English environmental law will be in the main run on Level 2.
KN 94 Environmental law (including Climate Change)
KN 95 Environmental protection (including eg conservation, biodiversity)
KN 96 Planning
KN 97 Environmental Health (including eg pollution, recycling)
KN 98  Agricultural law (including eg soil conservation)
 

 

But there may be useful texts in other parts of the K classification. Such as the following

Which foreign jurisdiction(s) are you interested in?
On Level 2, the floor at which you enter the law library, books in the shelf marks KN 94 to KN 98 may include works from the following
Australia  - books on Australian environmental law will have A8 at third line of shelf mark
Canada - indicated by C1 in shelf mark
Ireland -  I5
New Zealand - N4
USA - U4

 

On Level 3, one floor above the entrance level, you will find books from the countries of Europe. And in a separate run, with shelf marks beginning Euro Comm, books about European Union law.

On Level 1, one floor below the entrance level, are books relating to the remaining jurisdictions of the world

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General. 
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. 

If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth, the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen. This collection is also on Level 2, but separate from General.

Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.

Note: If the title is on an Oxford Reading List it may be in the Law Reserve Collection which is on Level 2, the floor at which you enter the library.
In this case the shelf mark will begin KW

The majority of the Law Library's collection of European Union books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm. These are available on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Bodleian Law Library.

Looking for a Reading List title?

The most heavily used titles on Oxford RL may well be in the Law Reserve Collection which is shelved on Level 2, the floor at which you enter the Library. Note that these will have shelf marks beginning KC.

SOLO subject search

Use exact phrase Environmental law, International 

Most books on this topic are shelved at Internat 610, which is on Level 3 - one floor above the entrance level to the law library

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.