Skip to Main Content

Criminal law: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying criminal law and criminology at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for criminal law, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

English & Welsh criminal law & justice

For English legislation and law reports, holders of an Oxford Single Sign looking should turn to a subscription database: such as Westlaw Edge UK or LexisLibrary.

When looking for articles in law journals on criminal law -start your search in Westlaw (as it includes the Criminal Law Review)

Both LexisLIbrary and Westlaw have practitioners' texts on aspects of criminal law and procedure.

The Bodleian Law Library is shelved over four floors, with stairs and a lift for readers to use.
The key floors for criminal law and criminology studies are 
On Level 2,  the entrance level to the library, where you will find

  • the Law Reserve Collection of the most heavily used Reading List titles
  • the current collection of books for England & Wales in the section with shelf marks beginning 
    • KM500 - KM565 Criminal Law
    • KM600 - KM700 Criminology
  • an Enquiry Desk with staff happy to help with further directions!

On Level 3 - one floor up from the entrance level you will find

  • the current collection of books with shelf marks beginning  Crim 

The SSL or the Bodleian Social Science Library is the next door neighbour of the Law Bod, in the Manor Road building - about a 5 minute walk away.

The SSL holds the teaching collection of works on Criminology: supporting the MSc in Criminology courses. It also includes collections of closely related subjects such as sociology, social work, economics, politics, refugee studies.

The RSL or Radcliffe Science Library is a 15 minute walk from the Law Library. The RSL holds the Bodleian's collection for psychology.

Related Bodleian guides

Key library