Skip to main content

Criminal law: Criminal law

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying criminal law and criminology at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for criminal law, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

Using this guide

Navigate through this guide by clicking on the pertinent tab in the range you can see above this box (below the main title of this guide).
 

Separate Bodleian guides exist which may help you further in this and related studies.

English & Welsh criminal law & justice

For English legislation and law reports, yholders of an Oxford Single Sign looking should always turn to a subscription database: such as Westlaw Edge UK or LexisLibrary.

When looking for articles in law journals on criminal law -start your search in Westlaw (as it includes the Criminal Law Review)

Both LexisLIbrary and Westlaw have practitioners' texts on aspects of criminal law and procedure.

 

For these topics, you may find useful material on all 4 Floors of the Bodleian Law Library
 
On Level 2 - the floor at which you enter the Law Bod 

Current monographs for England & Wales, and Scotland (as well as Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, and USA) These have shelf marks beginning:
KM500 - KM565 Criminal Law
KM600 - KM700 Criminology

Also on Level 2. Books with shelf marks beginning General and Cw Gen (comparative studies looking at 2 or more jurisdictions) and UK law journals

Level 3 - one floor up from the entrance level

Books with shelf marks beginning  Crim - Criminology, Euro Comm - European Union Law, Internat 580 - international criminal law, and works looking at the law of national juisdictions in Europe

Level 1 - one floor down from the entrance level

Books looking at the law of the remaining jurisdictions of the world (such as China, India, South Africa etc) and comparative law journals (issues 2000 onwards)

Ground Floor - Has the Bodleian Official Papers collection

 

The SSL or the Bodleian Social Science Library is the next door neighbour of the Law Bod, in the Manor Road building - at most a 10 minute walk away.

The SSL holds the teaching collection of works on Criminology: supporting the MSc in Criminology courses. It also includes collections of closely related subjects such as sociology, social work, economics, politics, refugee studies.

The RSL or Radcliffe Science Library is a 15 minute walk from the Law Library. The RSL holds the print collection for psychology.