Skip to Main Content

Constitutions, constitutional & administrative law: Administrative law

Introduction

The majority of books held by the Bodleian Libraries, in both physical and electronic formats, can be found via SOLO. On this page you will find recommended books, guidance on how to search for and access print and ebooks on administrative law, and libraries in the University that might be relevant for your studies and research. For help with constitutional law, please visit this other page.

Finding books and ebooks on administrative law

When you are studying English administrative law, most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. The Reserve Collection is also on Level 2 but are shelved in a discrete run. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library.
Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),

The majority of  current works dealing with English administrative law are on open shelf. (Superseded, earlier editions are also available in the secondary collection ("sec coll") on the Ground Floor.)

Increasingly, new books are being purchased as ebooks only. These normally require an Oxford SSO for remote access (if you are not on the University network, Bodleian Libraries Wifi, nor using a VPN on your laptop). If you sign into SOLO with your Oxford SSO before launching any searches this should cut down the number of times you are asked for it.

Looking for a Reading List title?
SOLO may indicate it is in the Law Reserve Collection. This is on Level 2, the entrance level to the law library, but in a separate bookcase. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are in the law library.

Shelf browsing on Level 2

KM1 Public law (includes chapters on constitutional, administrative, criminal, and tax law)
KM31 Constitutional & administrative law
KM300 administrative law - general principles, comprehensive treatments
KM303 Administrative tribunals
KM303.5 Public Inquiries
KM304 Administrative procedure
KM305 Remedies
KM306 Judicial review
Note: judicial review in particular areas of law will be shelved with that topic eg Criminal judicial review : a practioner's guide to judicial review in the criminal justice system and related areas would be at KM570.
KM307 Ombudmen -general works

The works on English & Welsh/UK law are shelved first. Then works on the treatment of the law by the other jurisdictions follow, country by country. In these cases, the third line of the shelf mark indicates which "foreign" jurisdiction the work is concerned with - using the following codes:
A8 or AUS    Australia
C1 or CAN    Canada
G8 or GUE    Guernsey
I5 or IRL    Ireland
I7 or IOM    Isle of Man
J2 or JER    Jersey
N4 or NZL    New Zealand
N8 or NIR    Northern Ireland
S3 or SCT    Scotland
U4 or USA    United States
W1 or WLS    Wales

Works on the administrative law in other jurisdictions will be shelved in the respective country collections: European countries are on Level 3, remaining jurisdictions on Level 1. 

 

If a book in this category is on a Reading List and it is in the Law Reserve Collection, the shelf mark will probably begin KA

Theoretical works in the open shelf collection predominately have shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for Jurisprudence or legal philosophy). These books are shelved, alphabetically by author/editor on Level 2, the entrance level to the Library.

Finding commentary in SOLO

Suggested subject search terms 
​Administrative law 
Judicial review 
Judicial review of administrative acts 
Administrative  procedure
Administrative remedies
Government liability 
Governmental investigations
Ombudspersons

Note: to limit to a jurisdiction add the name of that country. In the case of England you will need to use Great Britain too. For European Union law use both European Union, then European Union countries

The book collection of the Law Bod can be searched by using SOLO, the online library catalogue below

Needing help using SOLO, our online catalogue?

The libguide below is designed to help - and always feel able to ask a librarian next time you are in a Bodleian Library!

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Why are some books not available electronically?

There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic access to a resource. The ebooks guide explains some of these reasons: