Skip to Main Content

Competition law: Books

Subjects: Law

Finding ebooks and books in the Bodleian Law Library

Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..

Help with finding books

The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford  University's online resource discovery tool.
Suggested subject search terms 

Antitrust law
Competition, Unfair
Restraint of trade
Subsidies law and legislation
Consolidation and merger of corporations law and legislation

Note: to limit to a jurisdiction add the name of that country. In the case of England you will need to use Great Britain too. For European Union law use both European Union, then European Union countries

For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:

Finding English competition law books

If you are studying English competition law, most of your reading will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection.  These books are also on Level 2, but are are shelved in a discrete run. Please ask a librarian for directions when you are next in the Law Library. The books in the Law Reserve collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.

Standard SOLO searches will find many ebooks available in this topic, but law students are advised to log in and check the contents of Westlaw Books and LexisLibrary's commentary section separately as well. 

Cold Start Legal Research?

For English law, Halsbury's Laws of England (the encyclopedia and related services), The Digest and the Current Law services are shelved at KZ1 to KZ8 on Level 2. Holders of an Oxford SSO can consult Halsbury's online via LexisLibrary - while finding legislation and relevant case law can also be done online via both LexisLibrary and Westlaw Edge UK.

Subject Arrangement of Competition Law books on Level 2.
Books dealing with the English law are shelved a-z by author/editor at the beginning of each shelf mark section.

KN266    Competition law [general works on most of the aspects of competition law]
KN266.05    Fair trading 
KN266.1    Monopolies
KN266.12    Mergers, takeovers
KN266.15    Enforcement eg Competition Commission; Monopolies & Mergers Commission 
KN266.17    Regulators eg Office of Fair Trading 
KN266.2    Anti-competitive agreements
KN266.3    Retail price maintenance, price fixing 
KN266.5    Abuse of dominant position 
KN266.7    Exemptions

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General. 
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. 

If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth (the voluntary association of 54 independent and equal countries in Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific) the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen. This collection is also on Level 2, but separate from General.

Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.

Two book platforms which may be particularly useful for this topic - although SOLO searches will also find the individual books they contain

On Level 2, the entrance level, there is a collection of books on competition law. Jurisdictions included (shelved after the books relating to the English law) are Australia (A8), Canada (CI), Guernsey (G8), Ireland (I5), Isle of Man (I7), Jersey (J2) New Zealand (N4), Northern Ireland (N8), Scotland (S3), USA (U4), Wales (WI). The codes in bold are those added to the third line of the shelf mark to help you see which jurisdiction the book is dealing with.

The topic arrangement is as follows:

KN266    Competition law [general works on most of the aspects of competition law]
KN266.05    Fair trading 
KN266.1    Monopolies
KN266.12    Mergers, takeovers
KN266.15    Enforcement eg Competition Commission; Monopolies & Mergers Commission 
KN266.17    Regulators eg Office of Fair Trading 
KN266.2    Anti-competitive agreements
KN266.3    Retail price maintenance, price fixing 
KN266.5    Abuse of dominant position 
KN266.7    Exemptions

Level 3, one floor above the entrance level, is where you can find books dealing the law of European jurisdictions and European Union law. These collections are not subdivided by topic, but arranged alphabetically by the last name of author or editor.

Level 1, one floor below the entrance level, is where you can find books dealing the law of the remaining jurisdictions. These collections are not subdivided by topic, but arranged alphabetically by the last name of author or editor.

Note: Law Reserve Collection
Works on the competition law of a foreign jurisdiction can sometimes be on Reading Lists (see the first example below) so do look out for indications that the title is in the Reserve Collection - and ask a librarian for directions when you are next in the library.

Two book platforms which may be particularly useful for this topic - although SOLO searches will also find the individual books they contain

Subject searches to try in SOLO:
Conflict of laws -- Antitrust law      Antitrust law -- International cooperation    Antitrust law (International law)

Books with shelf marks beginning Internat or Private Int can be found on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Law Bod.

If the shelf mark begins General this collection is on Level 2, the entrance level.

Two book platforms which may be particularly useful for this topic - although SOLO searches will also find the individual books they contain

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for jurisprudence) where we shelve books on legal philosophy and theory. Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.

As the Law Library moves to the Moys Classification Scheme, you may find legal philosophy books with shelf marks begiinning KA . This collection is also on Level 2 - but a few shelves away from Jurisp.

The Enquiry Desk is also on Level 2 - please come and ask if you are having any difficulties finding the books you need.

Books with shelf marks beginning Internat are on Level 3

On Level 2, the entrance level to the Bodleian Law Library, there is the collection of books on the English law of competition, and several other common law jurisdictions. This collection is within the run of KN or private law shelf marks.
These books are arranged by topic, then by jurisdiction.
The topic arrangement is as follows:

KN266    Competition law [general works on most of the aspects of competition law]
KN266.05    Fair trading 
KN266.1    Monopolies
KN266.12    Mergers, takeovers
KN266.15    Enforcement eg Competition Commission; Monopolies & Mergers Commission 
KN266.17    Regulators eg Office of Fair Trading 
KN266.2    Anti-competitive agreements
KN266.3    Retail price maintenance, price fixing 
KN266.5    Abuse of dominant position 
KN266.7    Exemptions

Books on the English law are shelved first. Then (when applicable) works on same topic from the following common law jurisdictions are grouped by the jurisdiction name. The codes in bold are those added to the third line of the shelf mark to help you see when the books are now dealing with a different jurisdiction: Australia (A8), Canada (CI), Guernsey (G8), Ireland (I5), Isle of Man (I7), Jersey (J2) New Zealand (N4), Northern Ireland (N8), Scotland (S3), USA (U4), Wales (WI)

Also on Level 2 is the comparative law collection (General or Cw Gen) and legal philosophy collection (Jurisp)

Level 3, one floor above the entrance level, is where you can find books dealing the law of European jurisdictions and European Union law. These collections are not subdivided by topic, but arranged alphabetically by the last name of author or editor. This floor also has public and private international law books with shelf marks starting Internat and Private Int respectively.

Level 1, one floor below the entrance level, is where you can find books dealing the law of the remaining jurisdictions. These collections are not subdivided by topic, but arranged alphabetically by the last name of author or editor.

Further guidance on particular aspects

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Why are some books not available electronically?

There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic access to a resource. The ebooks guide explains some of these reasons: