Skip to Main Content

Competition law: Home

Subjects: Law

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying competition law at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for competition law, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

Competition law: quick start

Databases for English competition law studies
Both LexisLibrary and Westlaw UK will provide holders of an Oxford SSO with relevant primary sources (legislation & case law) and some commentary, in the form of journal articles and some practitioners' texts as well.

For cold start English legal research, the English legal encyclopedia ​Halsbury's Laws of England  (commonly called Halsbury's) is available to holders of an Oxford SSO via LexisLibrary.

Ebooks

In addition to the practitioners' texts available via the databases above, SOLO searches will help you find a large number of books on this topic from student textbooks to advanced research monographs. Some of these will also be available in print, again SOLO will tell you where.

Law Book Platforms

For quick introductions to the competition regimes in other jurisdictions try Competition & Antitrust updates in:

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. These titles are available to all categories of readers, but shelved in a discrete run. Please ask a librarian for directions when you are next in the Law Library.

If you are studying English competition law, most of your reading will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.
On this floor are services to help you find the current state of relevant legislation, the law report series (to find published judgments) and law journals as well as the current book collection.

For cold start English legal research, the English legal encyclopedia ​Halsbury's Laws of England  (commonly called Halsbury's) is on Level 2 at KZ 1. At KZ2 is Halsbury's Statutes which can be used to find updated legislation.   (Holders of an Oxford SSO are reminded they have online access to Halsbury's via LexisLibrary.)

The current collection of books about English competition  law are on open shelf on Level 2, in the section with shelf marks beginning KN266

For more guidance on finding books in the Law Bod please visit the Books page in this guide