Skip to Main Content

Australia: legal resources: Constitution

Is this jurisdiction new to you?

Australian legal system quick facts:

  • Alongside the commonwealth legal system Australia has a federation of six States and three self-governing territories, each with their own constitutions, parliaments and laws. 
  • The distribution of powers between the federal and state governments are laid out in the Australian Constitution (63 & 64 Victoria, c.12), which first came into force in 1901.

Constitution & constitutional law

The Australian Constitution came into force with the inauguration of the Commonwealth of Australia in January 1901.  The Constitution was originally laid out in a UK act- the Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act 1900 (63 & 64 Victoria c12).  It has subsequently been amended.

The Commonwealth Constitution maps out the federal/regional distribution of power.

Other important constitutional legislation includes the Statute of Westminster Adoption Act 1942 (Australia established as an independent Commonwealth nation), and the Australia Act 1986 (completed the process of independence from the UK).

States and territories have their own constitutions. 

Related Commentary

The current print collection is on Level 2 (the level at which you enter the library). The A8 in the shelf mark indicates where the focus of the book is on the Australian constitution.