Skip to Main Content

Africa: sub-Saharan jurisdictions: Regional blocs

Subjects: Law - Foreign Law

East African Community

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation. The Partner States are the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda.

"Autonomous institutions of the Community include the East African Development Bank (EADB), Lake Victoria Fisheries Organisation (LVFO), Lake Victoria Basin Commission (LVBC), the Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA), the Civil Aviation Safety and Security Oversight Agency (CASSOA), The East African Health and Research Commission (EAHRC), The East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTC) and the East African Kiswahili Commission (EAKC)."

West African cooperation

OHADA Organisation pour l'harmonisation en Afrique du droit des affaires 1992/3-
Currently has 17 member states
​Bénin, Burkina Faso, Cameroun, Centrafrique, Comores, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire,  Gabon, Guinée, Guinée Bissau, Guinée Equatoriale, Mali, Niger, RD Congo, Sénégal, Tchad, Togo

Regional associations