Skip to main content

Latin American History: Special collections

An introductory guide to sources for Latin American history.

Finding external collections

The following links can help you find archives and other resources outside of Oxford's own collections.

Digital collections

Special collections

Oxford has the following special collections of interest to Latin America:

Robert Pring-Mill (1924-2005) was appointed to a university lecturership in Spanish in 1952. This he held until his retirement in 1988, together with a tutorial fellowship at St Catherine’s College (1965-88) and college lecturerships at New College (1956-88) and Exeter College (1963-81). As well as donating material to the library throughout his life, he made a significant bequest of great interest to Latin Americanists amounting to around 1500 volumes.

Although much of the collection focuses on literary works, there is also a strong social and historical aspect to the material. There are a number of books and political pamphlets relating to the Nicaraguan Revolution, covering the Sandinista movement, the role of women in social change, as well as representations of conflict in literature. There is also coverage of general Latin American history and politics.

If you are interested in working with this collection, please contact the librarian.

Colin Clarke is an Emeritus Professor of Geography at Oxford University and an Emeritus Fellow of Jesus College, Oxford. In 2003, he gave his Mexican and Central American books to the Bodleian Latin American Centre Library. At the core of this donation was a specialist collection on the Mexican state of Oaxaca, dealing with its geography, history, demography, economic development, anthropology and archaeology.
 
This collection, purchased in Mexico and the UK, was put together between 1976 and 2000, when Oxford University Press published Professor Clarke's book Class, Ethnicity and Community in Southern Mexico: Oaxaca's Peasantries. The collection contains more than 500 books and journal offprints, bibliographies, gazetteers, typescripts and census materials. The census materials run from before the Mexican Revolution until 1990, and focus on population (though some agricultural, commercial and industrial data are included).
 
The collection is indispensable for any humanities or social sciences researcher working on Oaxaca. For more information please contact the Latin American Centre library.

Latin American newspapers