Skip to main content

Long Eighteenth Century in the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera: Home

A guide to accessing ephemera and prints from the Long Eighteenth Century in the John Johnson Collection, with a particular focus on historians and students of English Literature

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students/researchers studying History at the University of Oxford, although students/researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about ephemera and images in the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera relating to the Long Eighteenth Century in Britain.

news

Loading ...

John Bull and Napoleon

Political cartoon: A trip to Paris or Iohn Bull and his spouse invited to the honors of the sitting, 1802

French Wars and Revolutions folder 6 (26)

Overview

The John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera is a treasure trove for those interested in British history from 1700-1815.  However, material can be difficult to find.

The aim of this guide is to explain what can and what cannot be found online and how best to enjoy the resources of the Collection. It is not intended that this Guide should replace the John Johnson Collection website, where all general and user information can be found.

 

 

key web sites

John Johnson Collection website: http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/johnson

The John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (ProQuest). NB you must access this through a subscribing service, e.g. SSO: http://johnjohnson.chadwyck.co.uk/

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS): http://www.vads.ac.uk/

JJ Coll LibGuides landing page (with links to guides): http://ox.libguides.com/jj

 

Contacts

Profile Photo
Julie Anne Lambert
Contact:
John Johnson Collection
Bodleian Libraries
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BG
UK
+44 (0)1865 277047
Website