Skip to Main Content

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera for Historians: Finding images

A general guide to the John Johnson Collection for Historians

Print Shop

Print titled Very slippy weather indeed, showing man slipping outside Hannah Humphrey's print shop

(C) Trade in Prints and Scraps 8 (74)

Iconographic indexing

We  index the images too.  We use: Library of Congress Thesaurus for Graphic Materials and Iconclass.

In The John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (ProQuest) always use 'select from a list' to check that your search term is the best one.

Finding images

To find out which sections of the John Johnson Collection have been catalogued and digitised, you should refer to the online table: Digitised sections of the Collection and our Introduction to Finding Images.

We currently have c. 118,000 records online, with 183,000 images.

All images are on our own website except: Ballads, the Toyota Project (now archived, this is a project relating to motor cars, with a further 1,000 images of other forms of transport) and the ProQuest project:  The John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera. This (our largest) project. contains 65,000 items, with over 170,000 images) It covers:

  • Popular Prints
  • Advertising
  • 19th century Entertainment
  • Crime, Murders and Executions
  • Booktrade

The ProQuest project, can be cross-searched with other collections through Connected Histories.

Political Cartoons and Trades and Professions Prints can be browsed and searched in the Visual Arts Data Service (VADS). VADS, in turn, can be cross-searched through Culture Grid.

18th century Entertainment, Board Games and Writing Blanks (also known as School pieces) are online through Digital Bodleian.

Contacts

Profile Photo
Julie Anne Lambert
Contact:
John Johnson Collection
Bodleian Libraries
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BG
UK
+44 (0)1865 277047
Website