Skip to Main Content

Japanese Studies: Home

Subjects: Japan

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers of Japanese studies at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for Japanese studies, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for Japanese studies

 

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Japanese studies and printed books, including the main special collections in the Weston Library and the Sackler Library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our Books page of this guide.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. You can find a longer list on the Journals page of this guide.

            The journal is a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary forum for communicating new information, interpretations

            and research on Japan. 

            The journal is an English-language peer-reviewed journal that publishes outstanding research and translations as well as 

            book reviews.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. Find key databases for Japanese Studies in the Databases page of this guide for more titles.

Some of the key databases for Japanese studies are:

            To search Asahi newspaper articles published from Meiji period to to-date.

             Cambridge Histories is the essential reference collection spanning 350 volumes in 10 subject areas.

            JapanKnowledge an online web archive that boasts the largest corpus of encyclopedia, dictionaries, references.

             Most useful databases for Japanese studies can be found here.

             Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for databases available at Oxford. 

             You can filter by topic, language and more.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Alessandro Bianchi
Contact:
Dr Alessandro Bianchi
Bodleain Japanese Library
27 Winchester Road
Oxford, OX2 6NA
+44 (0)1865 284504

Key libraries