Skip to Main Content

Japanese Studies: Home

Subjects: Japan

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying Japanese at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for Japanese, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for Japanese Studies

 

            Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool for print and ebooks at Oxford.  

            You can find a comprehensive guide to SOLO in the Books page of this guide.

            CiNii Books is a service that enables searching of information on books in Japan and world-wide.

            The following databases are useful tools for searching books, journals and theses held in Japan and U.K.

            Comprehensive online catalogue for books, journals and theses held in Japan.

            Library Hub Discover gives you access to details of materials held in many UK national, academic and specialist libraries.

 

 

             

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. You can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. Find key databases for Japanese Studies in the Databases page of this guide for more titles.

Some of the key databases for Japanese studies are:

            To search Asahi newspaper articles published from Meiji period to to-date.

             Cambridge Histories is the essential reference collection spanning 350 volumes in 10 subject areas.

            JapanKnowledge an online web archive that boasts the largest corpus of encyclopedia, dictionaries, references.

             Most useful databases for Japanese studies can be found here.

 

Japanese manuscripts and rare books

The Bodleian Library holds some unique treasures acquired in the early years of its foundation. Take a look at the Finding aids and catalogue for further details on the collection and how to access it.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Alessandro Bianchi
Contact:
Dr Alessandro Bianchi
Bodleain Japanese Library
27 Winchester Road
Oxford, OX2 6NA
+44 (0)1865 284504

Key libraries

Related guides

Induction to Chinese Studies e-resources.

A guide to the South Asian collections at the Bodleian Libraries.

A general guide to wide area of Humanities at Oxford.

A general guide to Social Sciences Libraries Group.        

            A guide to resources available

            for language students.