Skip to Main Content

Italian Literature & Language: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford seeking support in their Italian literature & language-related research and study. Use this guide to locate relevant collections and resources on topics, historical periods, etc.

Finding books for Italian literature and language

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks and printed books for Italian literature and language, held largely in the Taylor Institution Library.  For more detailed info about our book collections see Print Collections in this guide.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for Italian literature and language below.

Key databases

The following bibliographical databases are particular useful in searching for literature searches. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. More e-resources are listed and described in the e-Resources section of this guide.

Oxford also subscribes to many text databases. You can find some of the key databases  below:

Links to Taylorian posts on Italian Literature & Language

The Taylor Institution Library blog is curated by the staff of the Taylor Institution Library.

The aim of the blog is to highlight items of interest in the library collections and to contribute to bibliographical scholarship in modern languages. Articles will focus on important new acquisitions, Taylorian Special Collections, less well-known materials, unusual or alternative formats, and projects and research using Taylorian collections. From time to time we hope to include relevant pieces by guest writers.

Below are links to Italian-related posts in the the Taylorian's blog:

Italian Literature and Language Subject Librarian

Clare Hills-Nova
Italian Literature and Language Subject Librarian
Taylor Institution Library
St Giles'
Oxford
OX1 3NA

e-mail: clare.hills-nova@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

web: https://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/libraries/taylor 

Key libraries

Main reading room of the Taylor Institution Library, Bodleian Libraries, Oxford