Skip to Main Content

Internet Studies: Journals

CoRR

The Computer Science section of arXiv, e-Print archive, which allows researchers to search, browse and download papers through its online repository free of charge.

Internet, Law & Society

Berkman Publication Series

Scholarly publications on matters related to the Internet, law, and society, published jointly by Berkman Center for Internet & Society (Harvard University) and the Social Science Research Network (SSRN).

Oxford Internet Institute (OII) Publications

The social implications of the Internet and other advanced ICTs, covering the themes of everyday life, governance and democracy, network economy, science and learning, and shaping the internet.

Databases of Journal Articles

For structured literature searching you should begin with SCOPUS and then try Web of Science and Proquest Social Science Premium which are different collections of academic journals and other academic literature.  

SCOPUS 
SCOPUS is a multidisciplinary collection including Geobase which has over 2 million journal articles.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a multidisiplinary database with a large social science collection including:

  • Social Sciences Citation Index
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index (both Science & Social Science with Humanities)
  • Science Citation Index (ISI)
  • Journal Citation Reports

ProQuest Social Science Premium 

Proquest searches a broad range of social science related academic journals and other academic sources of information.  

JSTOR 

JSTOR contains the full-text of many of the classic journals, some as far back as the 1880s.

Citation searching

For citation searching, i.e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to -

Social Science Citation Index

Part of Web of Science®, uses citations for relevance and article ranking.

SCOPUS

A bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences going back as far as 1869.

Google Scholar

Also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.
To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google Books with the reference in quotation marks.

Guide: Alerts

ZETOC

The monitoring and search service for global research publications provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis. You can search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify and delete email alert; set up RSS feeds for journals.

TOCs Journal Tables of Contents

This service makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by enabling them to find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

You can also set up alerts and RSS feeds on SCOPUS, as well as WPSA (Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) and IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences).