Inductions - Bodleian iSkills - Research Skills for Your Thesis - 1-1 surgery with the History Librarian - Palaeographic skills - Language courses - Making Maps - British Library training events - The National Archives postgraduate archival information skills training
Coming up next.... Digital Resources for Church Historians 21 Feb, 2-4pm (week 6)
Thurs 21 Feb (6th week) 2-4pm, Lecture Theatre, History Faculty
A two hour seminar during which key online resources relating to church history, covering largely Christianity from medieval to early 20th century, will be demonstrated. The resources include bibliographical and reference tools, digital source materials and how to keep up-to-date with new publications.
Presenters: Isabel Holowaty (History Librarian) and Hilla Wait (Theology & Philosophy Librarian)
Tuesday February 26, 2019 2pm–4pm
Ho Tim Seminar Room University of Oxford China Centre (Dickson Poon Building, Canterbury Road)
No booking required.
The Visual History Archive® is USC Shoah Foundation’s online portal that allows users to search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Archive has expanded significantly to also include survivor and witness testimony from other genocidal events: the Armenian Genocide (1915-1923), the Nanjing Massacre (1937), the Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda (1994) and the Guatemalan Genocide (1978-1996) as well as more recent testimonies relating to the Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence (August-October 2017).
This 2 hour workshop run by the USC Shoah Foundation will provide hands-on training on how to use the Visual History Archive, introducing students, librarians, staff, and faculty to the archive’s history, collections, interface, and search engines that are the key to unlocking the research and teaching potential of the archive. Learn about watching interviews and get tips how to successfully navigate the many testimonies.
[scheduled for Michaelmas Term only.]
This 2-hour session is designed to equip students working on their dissertation with key information skills in order to make best use of electronic information and discovery resources. A range of databases, e-journals and web portals will be explored as well as advanced features in SOLO and tools for literature searches. Time for hands-on practise will be included.
The University's Language Centre has a lot to offer for historians wishing to upgrade their language skills or, quite simply, start learning a language. There are several courses for historians, and a variety of regular Languages for All courses for all skill ranges.
They also have a lending library encouraging self-learning with a lot of language learning resources for 180 languages, including books and CDs, a very nice film collection and satellite television available in several languages. They also encourage online learning.
And finally, they have a successful language exchange programme which allows you to speak with native speakers.
The National Archives offers are range of information skills training courses aimed specifically at postgraduates. Sessions include:
If you would like a one-to-one session to get help on any aspect of library resources and tools (SOLO, databases, ejournals, etc.) and generally get advice and tips for locating sources for British and Western European history, then sign up for a 1-1 session by emailing the History Librarian.
You can find details of Bodleian Libraries' subject specialists online for other areas.