Skip to main content

History: Home

An overview of guides to History collections in Oxford.

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying History at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for History, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books

Oxford has a wide range of books for History, which are held in different libraries. To help you get started, please click on the Guides to History collections tab.  

Historians benefit hugely from having access to the Bodleian Library's Legal Deposit collections, as they have access to material not widely available. Read more about Legal Deposit and electronic Legal Deposit.

The History Faculty Library, based in the Radcliffe Camera is one of the main lending libraries for Oxford historians. Access and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check website for further information.

More information about teaching and research History collections in these libraries can be found here Guide to open shelf History collections in the Bodleian, Radcliffe Camera and Weston Library

Key journals

The majority of History journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched for via SOLO or eJournals A-Z

A small number of key History journals are listed below.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key bibliographical databases for History below.

If you can't find a History database in our collections, then it may be on the History eresources wishlist for purchasing / subscribing if and when funding becomes available. Trials of new eresources can be arranged. For more information see History eresources wishlist and trials.

Brushing up your information searching and research skills

A wide range of training is offered locally and outside Oxford. These range from classes to intensive bespoke 1-1 sessions with a specialist.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Rachel D'Arcy-Brown
Contact:
Upper Reading Room,
Room 2.03 (North / History end)
Bodleian Library,
Broad Street
Oxford,
OX1 3BG
01865 2-77294
Website

Reading lists for History (optional box)