Skip to Main Content

History databases wishlist & trials: eJournals & newspapers

Subjects: History - General

eJournal news

Loading ...

Suggest other resources

If a database or ejournal is not yet on the History wishlist, you can recommend an electronic resource.

How to evaluate a journal

Is the content:

  • scholarly
  • authoritative & peer-reviewed
  • accurate
  • up-to-date
  • complete
  • supported by editorials, documentation, guides.

Is there good functionality for

  • ease of use
  • searching & browsing
  • viewing, zooming, resizing
  • saving, emailing, printing
  • alerts
  • clear display & navigation

Tips:

  • Read editorial, helpfiles and FAQs
  • Test the same search using different methods

Is it relevant for other disciplines?

Al-Ahram Digital Archive (1875-2020) (trial until 15 May)

Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram (الأهرام‎) is one of the most prominent Arabic newspapers in the Middle East, with a legacy as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential national daily. Al-Ahram established itself as a high-quality journalistic venture during the mid-20th century reporting across the political, social, economic and cultural scope of the nation. After President Nasser nationalized the Egyptian press in 1960, readers generally considered the paper the de facto voice of the central government. Al-Ahram has long featured contributions from many of the Arab world’s most important literary figures and intellectuals: Naguib Mahfouz, Edward Said, Yusuf Idris, Taha Hussein, Ahmed Lutfi el-Sayed, and Azmi Bishara among them, as well as nationalist leaders such as Mustafa Kamil and Saad Zaghlul. Influential forward-leaning contemporary writers such as Sabah Hamamou are also affiliated with the paper. The newspaper over its history successfully expanded to circulate content from around the world, printing international editions as well as Arabic-language editions of the daily. The Al-Ahram Digital Archive features full page-level digitization, with page-views and searchable text. It offers scholars Arabic and English interfaces, options to download or print pages in high resolution, and features to crowd-source improvements to the OCRed text.

Please send feedback to lydia.wright@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde (trial until 19 May 2021)

The historical archive of Le Monde – one of the newspapers of record for France – is now available in full-page digital image format from Proquest. The period covered is from the foundation of Le Monde in 1944 up to 2000. It should be noted that only 25% of the content of this database is currently available. It is cross-searchable with Global Newsstream (also a ProQuest product) which covers Le Monde from 2011 up to the present (and also includes a range of other key UK, US and other international newspapers).

The Bodleian Libraries trial will end on 19 May. Another trial of both databases will be held in September 2021 when the Le Monde historical archive will be complete.

Please send any feedback to nick.hearn@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Global Newsstream (trial until 19 May 2021)

Global Newsstream contains full text articles from over 3,000 news sources, providing current coverage from many sources as well as archives extending back to the 1980s. Included are a number of key UK, US and international titles such as the GuardianThe New York TimesEl Mundo and Le Monde.

Global Newsstream’s coverage of Le Monde from 2011 to the present complements ProQuest’s historical archive of Le Monde from 1944 to 2000. As both databases are on the ProQuest platform the two databases are cross-searchable. The trial of Global Newsstream will run for the same time as the trial of Le Monde (Historical archive) until 19 May 2021.

Please note that as only 25% of the historical archive of Le Monde is available for the current trial; there will be another trial of both databases in September 2021 (when the Le Monde historical archive database will be complete).

Please send any feedback to nick.hearn@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (trial until 17 May 2020)

Hispanic views on nearly every major theme in American life
Hundreds of searchable newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics.
Please send feedback on the trial to Bethan Davies.

Retronews

Retronews is a new archive offered by the Bibliothèque Nationale de Franceand provides access to 600 French news titles published between 1631 and 1950.  Some of these newspapers used to be freely available on Gallicabut can now only be accessed through Retronews.

Just over half of the titles are published in Paris with the rest being regional French titles and 5 from Algeria. Titles include: Le Matin(1884-1944), Le Petit Parisien(1876-1944), Le Temps(1861-1942), Gazette nationale ou le Monitor universel(1789-1901).

Different kinds of keyword search are offered. Extra features include filtering by theme, historical period and place of publication. The database comes with three introductory tutorials.

We don't yet know when the trial expires, but please send feedback to Isabel Holowaty (isabel.holowaty@bodleian.ox.ac.uk)and Nick Hearn (nick.hearn@bodleian.ox.ac.uk).

The trial ends 25 Marh 2020.

Word Newspaper Archive: Latin Newspapers, Series II, 1822-1922

Trial ended 9 February.

This second series of digitized Latin American Newspapers dramatically expands the number of searchable titles available from this region. Providing issues from more than 250 additional titles, this online series includes newspapers published in English, Spanish and Portuguese from 20 countries, including some countries and cities not represented in the inaugural collection of Latin American Newspapers. Together, both series of Latin American Newspapers offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital area during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Oxford users already have access to the first series.

This collection is available for trial until February 9, 2013.  Please note that access is from within the University network only.

Please send feedback on this resource to joanne.edwards@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Daily Express Archive 1900-

An important 20th century tabloid newspaper.

Trailed in July 2012.

Vossische Zeitung Online [de Gruyter]

An important German newspaper, of a liberal stance, which was published in Berlin 1721-1934 and by considered a national newspaper.