Skip to main content

History databases wishlist & trials: Home & current trials

Subjects: History - General

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford seeking to learn what eresources are on the History wishlist for purchase or subscription, if and when funding becomes available.

It also gives information what resources have already been trialled and provides tips how to assess an eresources. For eresources already available in Oxford, see Databases A-Z.

eResources news

Loading ...

Suggest other resources

If a database or ejournal is not yet on the History wishlist, you can recommend an electronic resource.

How to evaluate a database

Is the content:

  • scholarly
  • authoritative & peer-reviewed
  • accurate
  • up-to-date
  • complete
  • supported by editorials, documentation, guides.

Is there good functionality for

  • ease of use
  • searching & browsing
  • viewing, zooming, resizing
  • saving, emailing, printing
  • alerts
  • clear display & navigation

Tips:

  • Read editorial, helpfiles and FAQs
  • Test the same search using different methods

Is it relevant for other disciplines?

Current Trials

The Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974 (GALE Archives Unbound)

Accessible via Databases A-Z (Trial runs until 30th April 2021)

Please send feedback to Lydia Wright and MariaLuisa Langella

From the National Archives at Kew, UK. Selected by Dr. Charles Tripp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, these documents cover the political and administrative history of the modern state which has emerged from the ancient civilization of Mesopotamia. Like Series 1, this database offers conference reports, ministerial memos and diplomatic dispatches, as well as official letters of correspondence from regional leaders, press releases and arms deal reports. This collection will also appeal to those with an interest in economics, politics and peace studies.

Series 2 on Iraq covers the following events:
The war in Mesopotamia and the capture of Baghdad in 1917
Introduction of the British Mandate and the installation of King Faisal in 1921
Independence and Iraq's membership in the League of Nations in 1932
Coups d’état in the 1930s and 1940s
The Baghdad pact of 1955 and the military coup of 1958 leading to the establishment of a republic
Oil concessions and the threat to Kuwait
The rise of Ba'athism and Saddam Hussein
The USSR-Iraq Treaty of Friendship in 1972
Iran-Iraq relations

If you would like us to consider a resource not yet available in Oxford or not on the History wishlist, complete a Recommend an eResource form.

Need help?

Rachel D'Arcy-Brown's picture
Rachel D'Arcy-Brown
Contact:
Upper Reading Room,
Room 2.03 (North / History end)
Bodleian Library,
Broad Street
Oxford,
OX1 3BG
01865 2-77294
Website

Introduction

The Bodleian History Librarian aims to provide a range of electronic resources to support the teaching and research of the History Faculty and primarily for British and Western European history and history of science & medicine.

Existing subscriptions are listed in SOLO and Databases A-Z. If you have any difficulties connecting to a database, please contact eResources.

Oxford readers, esp. staff and students of the History Faculty, are invited to give feedback on the electronic resources desiderata list and participate in trials.

Some comments may be passed to the eresources provider if they help in improving the resource. Feedback will also be collated for discussion in the Committee of Library Provision for History which meets Tuesdays, week 5, each term.

Please note that financial information will not be disclosed at this stage though it clearly is a major factor in deciding whether a purchase / subscription will be taken. Costs can range anything from a few hundred pounds to several thousand of pounds.

Enquiries relating to eResources for countries other than British and Western European and relating to History of Art, should be directed to the relevant subject librarian.

Isabel Holowaty
Bodleian History Librarian

6 November 2019