Skip to main content

Hertford College Library: Law

Information about using Hertford College Library for college members, prospective students and visitors.

How the Library can help

Simpkin the cat, ready to helpHertford Library is currently offering remote services while the library is inaccessible.

Want to ask for help finding a specific resources or searching more generally?  

One-to-one support is available:

  • by email to library@hertford.ox.ac.uk 
  • through voice and video calls on Microsoft Teams/Zoom/Facebook
  • old fashioned phone (leave a message with your name and number on 01865 279409 and we'll get back to you)
Need a book and can't find it online?

We're buying access to new ebooks on request and, in some cases, can buy print books and have them delivered directly to you. We may also be able to arrange a scan of a specific chapter and postal loans of books from the Library. You can request these services using our online request form.

Have a reading list to share?

If you have a reading list for the coming term please share it with us. We'd love to know what you need so we can help you get it! Please send any lists to library@hertford.ox.ac.uk.

Information from the Bodleian Law Library

January 2021 : the Bodleian Law Library is closed until further notice.

If you are a current member of the Law Faculty, please look out for email updates from the Law Librarian. 

Bodleian Library Study Spaces from 18 January
In response to the  current national rules and restrictionsthe Oxford University Silver Group and the Bodleian have agreed that, from 18 January, the (old) Bodleian Library will be open 10am–4pm, Mon–Fri. Access is limited to current University members and study spaces need to be booked in advance.

Opening time may be subject to change at short notice - we recommend checking the Bodleian Twitter (@bodleianlibs) feed before setting out on the day of your booking for the latest updates.

For current information about  other Bodleian services and support available to help you carry on with your work and research please consult the central webpage.

Above are the links to the major subscription databases for the study of English law available to holders of an Oxford SSO. (They also have collections of foreign & international materials.)

Note: For licensing reasons, most legal databases require an Oxford SSO so are not available to visiting readers.

The Law Bod subscribes to a wide range of electronic legal databases which can be used by all current full OU members with an Oxford Single Sign-On username and password (Oxford SSO).  Consequently, Oxford SSO holders have access a considerable library of legislation, law reports, law journals and e-books - from many jurisdictions & across most legal subjects - wherever they have access to the internet.

To discover the full range of subscription databases for law available to holders of an Oxford SSO, together with some reliable, freely accessible online resources, please explore the Law Bod's collection of online Libguides via one or more of the links below:

The Bodleian Law Library

The Law Bod is in the St Cross Building Manor Rd OX1 3UR. This is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the central Bodleian area off Broad St where the original Bodleian Library (aka The Old Bod), the Radcliffe Camera, and the Weston Library (formerly the New Bodleian) are grouped.

Welcome to Alumni & Visiting Researchers
The Law Library is committed to supporting academic legal research.
Should you wish to use the Law Library please complete the formalities required to get a Bodleian Reader's Card at the Central Admissions Office on the ground floor of the Weston Library, Broad Street, before coming on to the Law Library.

Please Note: For licensing reasons, most legal databases are only available to holders of an Oxford Single Sign On

The entire collection is reference only: we do not lend; no one may borrow! 

The vast majority of our collection is immediately available on open shelves. Please do ask a member of staff for more specific directions around the collection once you are in the library, it is arranged over 4 floors.

The guide below should help you make efficient use of SOLO - but please do feel free to ask for further help/clarification when you are in the Library.

Law students at Oxford are supported in their legal studies by their own (private) college libraries, and the University library,  the Bodleian Law Library (aka the Law Bod or BLL). There is no separate Law Faculty library at Oxford.

Other Bodleian Libraries

A number of other Bodleian libraries in Oxford can be useful for advanced legal research or when your topic is interdisciplinary. The list  below is not exhaustive: part of the joy of Oxford is discovering its libraries & their riches!

Considering Studying Law?

Online resources on SOLO

SOLO logoEbooks are being bought and added to SOLO daily.

To search exclusively for ebooks that are available to access from home, see our guide on limiting searches to accessible ebooks.

University members also have access to some other ebook sources that are not included in SOLO, details of these are listed below.

SOLO for Law

You can request new ebooks for purchase by filling in the books request form for the Bodleian Law Library or contacting Hertford Library on library@hertford.ox.ac.uk.

Internet Archive

ThInternet Archive homepage screenshote Internet Archive has freely available online books that are out of copyright.  This means older editions of literary texts are often available there.

The Internet Archive has also made a number of 20th century academic books available to borrow through their Lending Library. To use this service you need to set up a free user account. These books are still in copyright so the authors may request that they are removed from the website.  If you find a useful resources in the Lending Library then use them quickly and take very detailed notes - you might not be able to access them again in a few weeks.

Mayer Brown Law Textbook Fund

You can still request books for purchase (as ebooks or in print) using your Mayer Brown Law Textbook Fund.  Email library@hertford.ox.ac.uk to make a request or check how much money you have left in your allowance.  The Fund is available to all Law BA, BCL and MJur students at Hertford.

General links