Hertford Library is currently offering remote services while the library is inaccessible.
One-to-one support is available:
We're buying access to new ebooks on request and, in some cases, can buy print books and have them delivered directly to you. We may also be able to arrange a scan of a specific chapter and postal loans of books from the Library. You can request these services using our online request form.
If you have a reading list for the coming term please share it with us. We'd love to know what you need so we can help you get it! Please send any lists to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Ebooks are being bought and added to SOLO daily.
To search exclusively for ebooks that are available to access from home, see our guide on limiting searches to accessible ebooks.
University members also have access to some other ebook sources that are not included in SOLO, details of these are listed below.
You can browse for Oxford online database subscriptions on Databases A-Z, which has recommended databases for Engineering, Maths and Physics. These include primary sources like the CERN Document Server and Project EUCLID, reference resources like the Oxford Research Encyclopedias and the Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics, and bibliographical databases.
Bibliographical databases allow you to search for resources on a specific subject across different formats such as books, book chapters, journal articles, conference proceedings, reports and theses. Examples of bibliographical databases include SCOPUS and the Web of Science.
The Internet Archive has freely available online books that are out of copyright. This means older editions of literary texts are often available there.
The Internet Archive has also made a number of 20th century academic books available to borrow through their Lending Library. To use this service you need to set up a free user account. These books are still in copyright so the authors may request that they are removed from the website. If you find a useful resources in the Lending Library then use them quickly and take very detailed notes - you might not be able to access them again in a few weeks.