Skip to main content

Hertford College Library: Archaeology & Anthropology

Information about using Hertford College Library for college members, prospective students and visitors.

How the Library can help

Simpkin the cat, ready to helpHertford Library is currently offering remote services while the library is inaccessible.

Want to ask for help finding a specific resources or searching more generally?  

One-to-one support is available:

  • by email to library@hertford.ox.ac.uk 
  • through voice and video calls on Microsoft Teams/Zoom/Facebook
  • old fashioned phone (leave a message with your name and number on 01865 279409 and we'll get back to you)
Need a book and can't find it online?

We're buying access to new ebooks on request and, in some cases, can buy print books and have them delivered directly to you. We may also be able to arrange a scan of a specific chapter and postal loans of books from the Library. You can request these services using our online request form.

Have a reading list to share?

If you have a reading list for the coming term please share it with us. We'd love to know what you need so we can help you get it! Please send any lists to library@hertford.ox.ac.uk.

Online resources on SOLO

SOLO logoEbooks are being bought and added to SOLO daily.

To search exclusively for ebooks that are available to access from home, see our guide on limiting searches to accessible ebooks.

University members also have access to some other ebook sources that are not included in SOLO, details of these are listed below.

SOLO for Archaeology & Anthropology

You can request new ebooks for purchase by filling in the Bodleian Libraries book request form or contacting Hertford Library on library@hertford.ox.ac.uk.

Temporary access to a number of online packages has been arranged by the Bodleian Libraries and individual book records are now in SOLO.

Online databases for Archaeology and Anthropology

Anthrolopogy databases in Databases A-ZYou can browse for Oxford online database subscriptions on Databases A-Z, which has recommended databases for Anthropology and Archaeology. These include primary sources like the Ancient Egyptian Architecture Online and Mass Observation Online, reference resources like the Oxford Research Encyclopedias and bibliographical databases.

Bibliographical databases allow you to search for resources on a specific subject across different formats such as books, book chapters, journal articles, conference proceedings, reports and theses. Examples of bibliographical databases for A&A include the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences and the International Medieval Bibliography.

Archaeology and Anthropology cover a really wide range of academic areas so you might also want to explore databases for other subject areas - from art to zoology!

Internet Archive

ThInternet Archive homepage screenshote Internet Archive has freely available online books that are out of copyright.  This means older editions of literary texts are often available there.

The Internet Archive has also made a number of 20th century academic books available to borrow through their Lending Library. To use this service you need to set up a free user account. These books are still in copyright so the authors may request that they are removed from the website.  If you find a useful resources in the Lending Library then use them quickly and take very detailed notes - you might not be able to access them again in a few weeks.

General links

News on free open access resources

Berghahn have made all their ebooks open access via Proquest eBook Central.  Access via SOLO here: http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/permalink/f/ds4uo7/LGDBaz/31533018 .  They have also made all their journals open access via their website here: https://www.berghahnjournals.com

Bloomsbury have made their resources open access - links available via Databases A-Z:  https://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/az.php?v=67445.

An expanded CyberOrient, an official open-access journal of the American Anthropological Association, is now up and ready for surfing. CyberOrient welcomes Anders Ackfeldt at Lund University in Sweden as a new Managing Editor along with Vit Sisler at Charles University. Our renewed website, http://cyberorient.net now has archived all past articles in PDF. Soon we will be available and archived on AnthroSource as well.