Skip to Main Content

German Language and Literature: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying German Languages and Literatures at the University of Oxford, although any students/researchers with an interest in German may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for German Studies, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for German Language and Literature

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for German and printed books, including the main collection in the Taylor Institution Library.  For more detailed info about our book collections visit the books page of this guide.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available electronically and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for German below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Key online resources

Oxford has many other online resources you might find useful. You can find some of the key resources below, but take a look at the online resources page of this guide for more examples.

New Books

Oxford is continually acquiring new books related to German Language and Literature. For lists of recent purchases, take a look at the new books page on this guide.  All members of the University are able to request book purchases. 

Subject Consultant

Profile Photo
Emma Huber
Contact:
Taylor Institution Library, St Giles', Oxford OX1 3NA

Working days: Wednesdays (9.30am - 7pm); Thursdays and Fridays (9.30am - 2.30pm)
(01865) 278153
Website

Related guides

Key libraries

Students sit at individual desks in a wood-panelled room with bookshelves