Skip to Main Content

French Language and Literature: Databases

This guide aims to provide an introduction to essential library and electronic resources for French studies at Oxford

What are databases and why should I use them?

Bibliographic databases are a powerful tool for finding scholarly literature, like journal articles, in your subject area. They are useful when you want to start exploring beyond your reading list or are researching a new topic. Experts in your subject area select key content to be included in databases, so you can be confident of its quality. Some databases will have full-text access, which means you can read the whole item (like an article or book chapter) on the database. Other databases offer 'indexing' or 'abstracting' services, which means they give an overview of the item, like title, author, year of publication and a summary of the research.

How do I find databases?

Oxford subscribes to lots of databases that you can use for free. They can be accessed through SOLO or Databases A-Z. SOLO allows you to search all material in the libraries at the University, including databases. Databases A-Z allows you to to explore databases alone, without the distraction of other items like books popping up in the results.

If you are new to SOLO we recommend visiting the 'How to' guides at the link below.

Databases for French studies

Below you will find a few popular databases used for the study of French. It is recommended that you engage with databases relevant to your subject so that you become familiar with the different features offered. Such features include:

  • Thesauri.
  • Bibliographies.
  • Sophisticated searching, including Boolean operators, filters, wildcards, truncation, fuzzy searches, proximity searches and command line searches.
  • Citation tools and bibliometrics.

In addition to Oxford's subscription databases, there are a number of free online resources to support the study of French, many of which are listed in Databases A-Z (look for the https://libapps-eu.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/145322/images/Free_access_symbol.png icon).

MLA International Bibliography

Take a look at the tutorials provided below to find out how to get the best results when searching the MLA Bibliography.

You can always consult the Help section within the MLA Bibliography for more search tips. 

International Medieval Bibliography

The International Medieval Bibliography comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide.

All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Browse Databases for French studies

You can browse all databases relevant for French studies on Databases A-Z:

Recommend a database

If there is an eresource useful to your work that Oxford does not subscribe to, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required).

University of Oxford E-resources Blog