Skip to main content

Forestry: Home

Subjects: Forestry

Covid-19 Update

Due to the Covid-19 outbreak, the Bodleian Libraries are closed until further notice.

While our physical services are suspended we are continuing to provide and expand our digital services.

Please find more information here: http://blogs.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/science/2020/03/19/bodleian-libraries-closure/

I am continuing to work part-time from home during the closure and can be contacted at: sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Resources for Forestry

The Oxford Forestry collection was formerly held in the Department of Plant Sciences, where it was the library of the Oxford Forestry Institute. In 2010 the collections moved to the Radcliffe Science Library and then finally to the Bodleian Book Storage Facility (BSF) in Summer 2017.

New material for the collection is frequently received from CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International), based in Wallingford. CABI abstracts material in many disciplines, including forestry and these abstracts can be search via the Forest Science Database and CAB Abstracts.

The forestry collection is a mixture of material comprising books, periodicals and grey literature. The total collection is over 200,000 items. Most of the material is donated either by CABI or from forestry organizations from all over the world. Literature is collected in a wide variety of languages and all abstracted material is kept permanently.

Not all titles are catalogued on OLIS, Oxford's online computer catalogue, but with the aid of handlists and online databases material can be located.

 

History of Forestry at Oxford

A brief overview of the forestry library collections can be found in the history of forestry at Oxford, 1905-2005 - a set of five posters prepared by Roger Mills, Oxford Forest Information Manager 1981-2010, for the conference 'Frontiers in Forest Information : a centenary conference' held at St Anne's College Oxford, in December 2005.

A more detailed history of forestry at the University can be found in the following paper -

Burley, J. et al. (2009) Witness to History: A History of Forestry at Oxford University. British Scholar, v.1(2), pp. 236-61

Other Libraries

The Weston Library houses the Bodleian Libraries Special Collections including material from Commonwealth and African Collections previously held at the Rhodes House Library. This collection contains material relating to the history of British colonial administration, including forestry. The collections can be read in the Charles Wendell David Reading Room.

External Readers

If you are not a member of the University you will need to apply for a reader's ticket from the Bodleian Libraries Admissions office.

Contact Us

Sophie Wilcox (Sherardian Librarian)

Sherardian Library of Plant Taxonomy,
Department of Plant Sciences,
South Parks Road,
OX1 3RB
Tel: +44(0)1865 2-75025 or 2-75800 (RSL)
Email: sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk or enquiries.rsl@bodleian.ox.ac.uk