Skip to Main Content

Film Studies: Films

A short guide to Bodleian Libraries' resources for Film Studies
Subjects: English, Film Studies

Main film collections

The Taylor Institution Library focuses on European cinema. The Taylor has a growing collection of approximately 5,300 films on DVD and Blu-ray, including works by key European directors such as Bergman, Fassbinder, Fellini, Godard and Renoir. The library also acquires films from around the world (including Latin America, China, India and Japan).

British and American cinema, and a selection of other English-language films, are located at the English Faculty Library, where there is a collection of approximately 2,900 films on DVD and Blu-ray, including such genres as film noir, the western, horror and melodrama. The film collection also includes a number of Shakespearean productions and other films of general literary interest.

Additional film collections

The Bodleian Japanese Library holds approximately 160 videos of Japanese film, educational materials on Japan and television recordings. There are viewing facilities in the library.

There are additional film collections at the Rewley House Continuing Education Library and the Language Centre Library. The Social Science Library has approximately 600 videos and DVDs, mostly documentaries relevant to refugee studies. Some college libraries also have film collections, including Magdalen College Library, and New College Library.

Box of Broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts is an on demand TV and radio service for education. It allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to search an online archive of over 2 million broadcasts, record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and create their own playlists, clips and clip compilations. Content includes BBC One, BBC Two, BBC Four, ITV, Channel 4, Film4, 10 foreign language channels, BBC Shakespeare Archive content dating back to the 1950s, and more.

Borrowing films

Please see the English Faculty Library and Taylor Institution Library for details of the borrowing allowances for films.

Please note that films may only be borrowed for educational purposes, and that commercial copyright regulations strictly forbid the copying of DVDs and videos.

Both the English Faculty Library and the Taylor Institution Library have portable DVD players which may be borrowed. The Taylor also has a small viewing room which can be booked.

DVDs which are not in Region 2 (European) formats have been labelled with warning stickers. If you wish to borrow an item in Region 1 (North American) format, or any other non-Region 2 format, please only do so if you are sure that your DVD player/PC is capable of playing these formats. Playing a non-Region 2 DVD on some European standard DVD players/PCs can result in damage to the machine. Readers borrow material at their own risk.

Taylor Institution Library Blog

Launched in January 2015, the aim of the Taylor Institution Library blog is to highlight items of interest in the library collections and to contribute to bibliographical scholarship in modern languages.

Previous posts include one on the Taylor's collection of Polish cinema, and another on the library's collection of Brazilian film.